Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Apply for Membership
Community Search
News & Press: General

SAIMechE Honorary Fellowships

Wednesday, 28 February 2018   (1 Comments)
Share |

As prescribed in SAIMechE’s Constitution, an Honorary Fellow shall be a person intimately connected with mechanical engineering science or practice, whom the Institution specially desires to honour for exceptionally important services rendered to SAIMechE or to mechanical engineering.

The election of an Honorary Fellow shall be by ballot and shall require the unanimous vote of the Council. The Council may typically only elect two Honorary Fellows per session, but as no Honorary Fellows had been elected in the previous year, the Council decided to elect three Honorary Fellows in the 2017 Council session.

After due process, the following SAIMechE members were elected to Honorary Fellow:

  • Prof. Beric Skews
  • Prof. Josua Meyer
  • Mr. Kudzai Nyangoni

Pictured below left: Vaughan Rimbault, Prof Beric Skews and Prof Josua Meyer. 
Pictured below right: Kudzai Nyangoni and Vaughan Rimbault.


The citations supporting the elections are presented below.

Prof. Beric Skews
PhD, MSc (Eng), BSc (Eng), CEng, FSAIMechE, MAIAA, FRSSAf, MASSAf, FSSWR, HMSAAM, FRAeS, DIng (Honoris Causa), Pr Eng, FRAes

Prof. Skews attended Wits University and graduated with a bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering in 1957. He went on to complete a master's degree, and obtained his PhD in 1967, focusing on shockwave diffraction. He was instrumental in establishing a specialised aeronautical engineering degree at Wits university, which is still the only specialised degree of its type offered in Africa. He is attributed with the discovery of the four shock reflection pattern, now known as Guderley reflection.

He is active in both international and local professional bodies, including the International Advisory Committee on Shock Waves, the International Shock Wave Institute, and the organising and scientific committees of a number of international symposia and workshops, including being Chairman of two international meetings (1996 and 2001), one in South Africa and one in China. He is an editor of the journals Shock Waves and the Journal of Engineering Physics and Thermophysics. He was the founder President of the South African Institute of Aeronautical Engineers and has served twice as President of the Royal Aeronautical Society (Southern Africa Division).

In addition to carrying out a substantial amount of research in collaboration with scientists in Australia, Japan, Israel, Russia, China, Canada, Sweden, and the United States, he supervises numerous undergraduate and postgraduate research projects, and also lectures Compressible Gas Flow to final year Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering students at Wits University.

In 2008, Prof. Skews was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Aeronautical Society in London. This award recognises the contributions he made to the setting up of the aeronautical engineering degree at Wits in the sixties and in which he was the first Chair incumbent. This remains the only internationally recognized formal degree in this field in South Africa.

Prof. Josua Meyer
PhD Mech Eng, FSAIMechE, Pr Eng

Prof. Meyer graduated Cum Laude in 1984 at the University of Pretoria. He subsequently obtained a Masters Degree (Cum Laude) in 1986 and a PhD in 1988. Prof Meyer’s initial teaching and research were in computational fluid dynamics but later shifted to experimental thermal/fluid sciences with specific application to air-conditioning and refrigeration systems. The emphasis of his research at present is on enhanced heat transfer, convection heat transfer, and condensation heat transfer.  Prof Meyer taught at NWU and UJ and is currently Head: Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering as well as Chair: School of Engineering at the University of Pretoria. His teaching excellence was recognized in 2013 at the World Education Congress held in Mauritius.

 He has been an external examiner at graduate and post graduate level for several South African Universities since 1995, he has also supervised more than 90 post graduate students and 13 post-doctoral students. On an industrial level, he was either founder or director of 9 leading edge companies involved in the fields of CFD, FEM, heat pump, air conditioning, energy as well as general consulting and project execution. He has published more than 450 papers in his field of research and his research is ranked amongst the top 1% in the world by the Essential Science Indicators of the ISI Web of Knowledge. 

Prof. Meyer has been involved in SAIMechE and actively supports efforts to get students registered as members. At ECSA he had an active input into the drafting of the Discipline Specific Guidelines for mechanical engineers and he also represents the institution by serving on the Mechanical PAC.

Mr. Kudzai Nyangoni
MBA(Finance), Graduate Dip(Marketing), BSc(Hons) Mech Eng, MSAIMechE; Pr Eng

Mr Nyangoni joined SAIMechE in 2005 immediately after being registered as a Professional Engineer, and was invited to join the Central Branch Committee the same year. He served on the committee and was appointed Central Branch Treasurer in 2006. He served in that capacity for a year and later took over as Chairperson of Central Branch. By virtue of being Central Branch Chairperson, he then joined the SAIMechE Council. In 2008, he became National Treasurer and served in that capacity for almost 4 years until he was elected SAIMechE President in 2012, serving as such until 2016. This coincided with his appointment as a member of Council for the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA).  

The highlight of his presidency was the successful development of SAIMechE’s Professional Development Program for graduate engineers. This program is one of a kind in the engineering profession and seeks to develop graduate engineers’ competences in 11 key areas that are necessary for becoming a professional engineer.

Mr Nyangoni also served on ECSA’s professional advisory committee (PAC) for the registration of Mechanical Engineers from 2010 to 2017. He was appointed as Chairperson of the ECSA’s Staff & Finance Committee, one of ECSA’s nine high-impact committees.


Gary Sachs says...
Posted Thursday, 12 April 2018
Congrats to Prof. Skews, Prof. Meyer as well as Mr Nyangoni.

Sign In

Latest SAIMechE News

2019/05/21 » 2019/05/23
Local Manufacturing Expo

Automation Expo 2019

2019/07/08 » 2019/07/12
Mechanics of Heavy Vehicles 2019

2019/07/24 » 2019/07/26
KZN Industrial Technology Expo

2019/07/31 » 2019/08/01
Beltcon 20

Online Surveys

Privacy Notice   ||   Terms and conditions of use